Jesus loves me this I know. For the Bible tells me so.

In a world obsessed with professionalism, where people like to throw and receive mind-boggling jargons and details, I particularly enjoy the simplicity of Christianity.

You could exchange intense theological arguments with the most intellectual, and sing “Jesus loves me” to a 2-year-old, and yet you are actually talking exactly about the same thing.

I remember once listening to a sharing session about a Christian ministry for severely retarded children. They played a video which showed the children smiling in their wheelchairs when hearing Christian hymns.

Is there anything that could be made into an academic discipline in high-flying institutions, and yet able to be sung softly to a child, the sound of which could even make retarded children smile?

The 20th century academic giant in theology Karl Barth was famous for his heavy volumes of systemic theology which only postgraduate students would attempt on. Yet when asked how he could summarise those volumes in simple words, he did not have to set up a committee, or ask for help from a line of assistants, in order to give an answer: Jesus loves me this I know. For the Bible tells me so.

One thought on “Jesus loves me this I know. For the Bible tells me so.

Leave a Reply

